K12 Summer Camps

Our tuition-free online Summer Camps are a great way to get and stay connected to your school community this summer. These virtual camps are each only 1 hour long and are scheduled late-June through the first of mid-August. Get ready to make new friends, have fun and explore interesting topics! 
 
Thank you for a great summer of camps!  Session recordings are listed below. 

Summer is for fun!  We want to encourage our young ones to stay inquisitive and adventurous with our schedule of Maker Camps for Kindergarten through 2nd grade students.  We will have fun, and maybe even get our hands a little dirty as we play and make fun creations. 

Thursday, June 23rd @ Noon ET/11am CT/10am MT/9am PT & Arizona  -  Crayon Crafts   ---  Watch 1 hour Blackboard Recording by clicking HERE

Thursday, July 7th @ Noon ET/11am CT/10am MT/9am PT & Arizona – Homemade Playdough -- Watch 1 hour Blackboard Recording by clicking HERE

Thursday, July 28th @ Noon ET/11am CT/10am MT/9am PT & Arizona -  Puzzles - Watch the 1 hour Blackboard Recording by clicking HERE

Thursday, August 4th @ Noon ET/11am CT/10am MT/9am PT & Arizona  -  Bubble Prints - Watch the 1 hour Blackboard Recording by clicking HERE

Thursday, August 11th @ Noon ET/11am CT/10am MT/9am PT & Arizona  -  Paper Airplanes & Straw Gliders - Watch the 1 hour Blackboard Recording by clicking HERE

 

Maker Camp is for 3-6th grade students interested in DIY, making, creating, crafting, tinkering, and learning. Maker Camp is a place where students can share their ideas and learn about new ways to create. Students will be encouraged to explore different ways to make and create hands-on projects and be given sure-fire starter projects that will get them inspired to do more.

Wednesday July 13th @ 5pm ET/4pm CT/3pm MT/2pm PT & Arizona  - Make Your Own Sketch Book  -  Watch 1 hour Blackboard recording by clicking HERE

Wednesday July 20th @ 5pm ET/4pm CT/3pm MT/2pm PT & Arizona  - Making Costumes - Watch the 1 hour Blackboard recording by clicking HERE

Wednesday July 27th @ 5pm ET/4pm CT/3pm MT/2pm PT & Arizona  - Explore Art with Paper - Watch the 1 hour Blackboard recording by clicking HERE

Wednesday August 3rd @ 5pm ET/4pm CT/3pm MT/2pm PT & Arizona  - How to Make Solar Powered Ovens - Watch the 1 hour Blackboard recording by clicking HERE

Wednesday August 10th @ 5pm ET/4pm CT/3pm MT/2pm PT & Arizona  - Let's Make a Marble Run - Watch the 1 hour Blackboard recording by clicking HERE

 

Tuesday, June 14th  @  2pm ET/1pm CT/12pm MT/11am PT & Arizona 
Building Catapults
In this session we will explore engineering design and construction through homemade catapults! Materials to gather for the session: Wood (various pieces for the base and structure), an assortment of small screws and/or nails, 1 large rubber band or several smaller ones, 2 eye hooks (to the right of the rubber band, Some glue (optional but a good idea), 1 four inch square piece of cardboard or poster board (This is the basket that your projectile sits in), and 1 metal bar at least 6 inches long, (you can use axle from an old toy car)   Watch 1 hour Blackboard Recording by clicking HERE

Tuesday, June 21st @ 1pm ET/Noon CT/11am MT/10am PT & Arizona
Mechanical Grabber

First steps to creating a robotic arm; come to create or watch and discover all about robotic arms and the exciting future of robotics. Learn how to make a Robotic Arm out of popsicle sticks and other house hold items.  Materials needed: Popsicle sticks, 2 bottle caps, Scissors, Wooden skewers, Cutter/blade, Hot glue, Wire cutters, Nail, Hammer  Watch 1 hour Blackboard Recording by clicking HERE

Monday, June 27th @ 1pm ET/Noon CT/11am MT/10am PT & Arizona
3D Printing
This will be great session for students nationally to collaborate about 3D printing; from novices to students who are familiar and have existing skills. *Please bring your questions and creations to share. Understanding the different 3D printing technologies; comparing the types of 3D printers; 3D modeling and scanning software.  Watch the 1 hour Blackboard Recording by clicking HERE

Monday, July 11th @ 2pm ET/1pm CT/Noon MT/11am PT & Arizona
Apptastic!

Smart phones and tablets have become essential to daily life along with the apps that they run. In this session we will discover fun and interesting new apps, trade info about our favorites, and learn about app development. Participants will walk away with new ideas for apps and the tools in which to build them on, no coding experience necessary.  Watch the 1 hour Blackboard Recording by clicking HERE

Tuesday, July 19th  @  4pm ET/3pm CT/2pm MT/1pm PT & Arizona
Easy Summer Arts and Crafts
String art and painting crafts are great projects to add to your list of summer must do activities. 7-12th grade students are invited to join us for this creative session full of inspiring ideas.
No recording available due to technical difficulties

Wednesday, July 20th at 1pm ET/Noon CT/11am MT/10am PT & Arizona
Coding

Have you ever wondered how your favorite computer game was made?  How the new animated movie was created?  How the apps on your ipad came to be?   Or even how your online school courses were developed?  It all starts with coding.   Join us in this fast paced introductory class (no prior coding experience needed)  to learn the basics of coding and leave with valuable resources to further develop your coding skills throughout the summer.  No recording available dut to technical difficulties

Thursday July 21st @ 2pm ET/1pm CT/Noon MT/11am PT & Arizona
“Anime”zing

Do you love the world of Manga and Anime? Then this is the session for you! We will meet to chat about our favorite shows, comics, and characters. Participants will be encouraged to share their own drawings and creations with the group. We will also be learning new techniques for creating Anime and Manga inspired art. In the session, we will create a virtual Manga as a group that participants will get to keep.  Watch the 1 hour Blackboard Collaborate recording by clicking HERE

Monday, July 25th at 1pm ET/Noon CT/11am MT/10am PT & Arizona
Best Apps for Productivity
Get a jump start on the new school year by learning about the latest and best technology to increase your productivity and help you become a better student.   Still summer you say?  Not ready to think about school?   Think about this…  By taking advantage of technology you could potentially save yourself hours of your time by utilizing an app or website to finish your work faster and more accurately.   So, by joining us for this session, you will really be freeing up many future hours of your time for the upcoming school year by learning how to work smarter, not harder.  Watch the 1 hour Blackboard Collaborate recording by clicking HERE

Tuesday, July 26th  @  6pm ET/5pm CT/4pm MT/3pm PT & Arizona
Build Your Own Motor
In this session we will explore the basic understanding of how an engine runs and how to build your own motor. Materials needed: insulated copper wire, black permanent marker (such as a Sharpie), scissors, small neodymium disc magnets, D-size battery, battery holder (sticky tack or modeling clay can be used instead), large rubber band (not needed if using a battery holder), 2 large paperclips, pen or pencil  Watch the 1 hour Blackboard Collaborate recording by clicking HERE

Student Enrichment for:

6 - 8 High School